our history

MIT Bhangra was started as the Punjab Club in 1991 by Radhika Nagpal, Sumer Johal, and Sumeet Sandhu. The original team consisted of six people - four Punjabis (three Indian, one Pakistani), one from Karnataka, and one Gujarati-American. In 1998, the team took the name Noor-e-Punjab (Light of Punjab) and went to its first competition (and won 2nd place!!!).

After Sumer left in 1999, Sunil Vemuri and Radhika led the club for several years. During this time, the popular IAGB summer performance on India Day started and the voluntary bhangra executive committee was born. In 2001, the club was run by the group efforts and collaboration of the Bhangra Executive Committee. The presence of a committee resulted in new ideas for styles and fusions, expanded teaching efforts, and strong collaborations with other college bhangra teams and the Boston Punjabi community.

In 2002, thanks to the untiring efforts of Arundhati Singh, MIT Bhangra became an official ASA recognised group at MIT, and Rasika Kumar became the first president to lead the club. In May 2003, we won the Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Student Art Award for our contributions to the community.

Every year, the composition of the team changes as new people come to MIT. However, many alumni stick around to help as instructors, advisors, and friends. They are the key to keeping the spirit of the club alive. Today, the MIT Bhangra team is incredibly diverse, but it still has at its core the philosophies and guiding principles that were laid down at the start. We continue to perform at competitions, showcases, and domestic events, sharing our culture and traditions as we go.

about us
» overview » history » team » executive board » alumni